Book Meme Corner: Women With Over-developed Nervous Systems and How to Irradiate Your Face

Ah, blogging memes. I’m not a huge fan in general, but Secundum Artem has tagged me with one, and I’ll dutifully follow along. The memeceedure here is:

1. Go to page 123 of the nearest book.
2. Find the 5th sentence.
3. Write down the next 3 sentences.

The actual nearest book to me was Medicine in Cleveland and Cuyahoga County, 1810-1976, but unfortunately page 123 lacks enough full sentences and is merely an extremely dry recitation of institutions in any case. Lest you think the book is a total waste though, it does include a long and amusingly sage and serious discussion of homeopathy, as well as recounting the 1881 gynecological lectures of one Dr. Henry Justus Herrick, in which he apparently attributed women’s uterine problems to, among other things, the “overwork of the brain and excessive development of the nervous system.” You’ve come a long way, medicine!

The book also has a fabulous picture, very similar to the one below, of an advertisement for an old timey 1900s X-Ray-based fluoroscopy machine in which radiation is shot directly through the patient and into the doctor’s face.

Old Timey X-Ray

The text of the ad reads:

“In the Bottom of Your Heart… you feel you need a Wagner Mica Plate Static Machine. They Do Not Change Polarity While In Operation….”

(But they will deliver potentially lethal doses of radiation straight into your face)

They Do Not Deteriorate with Age…

(Not at all true: mica plate technology lasted longer than previous X-Ray generating tubes, but still did not last very long)

They are unexcelled for X-Ray work…

(Definitely true for the time)

They have five Times the generating capacity of any static machine of the same size…

(i.e. five times the amount of radiation into your face)

They Work in Damp weather.

(A must in Cleveland!)

I’m cheating here, of course. So I’d better find the next nearest book, which happens to be The Metaphysical Club, by Louis Menand (a truly great work of American intellectual history, by the way). I was almost irritated that, out of a book which deals principally with the fascinating development of post-civil war American philosophies like pragmatism, page 123 is, coincidentally enough, about Darwin and evolution, a subject most of my readers must be absolutely sick of hearing about by now. Those are the rules though, and here is the passage:

A way of thinking that regards individual differences as inessential departures from a general type is therefore not well suited for dealing with the natural world. A general type is fixed, determinate, and uniform; the world Darwin described is characterized by chance, change, and difference–all the attributes general types are designed to leave out. In emphasizing the particularity of individual organisms, Darwin did not conclude that species did not exist. He only concluded that species are what they appear to be: ideas, which are provisionally useful for naming groups of interacting individuals.

I’ll tag Murder of Ravens and Millard Fillmore’s Bathtub, who hopefully have more accidentally interesting passages to offer and haven’t already been tagged before (which is the other irritating issue with these memes).

21 Responses to Book Meme Corner: Women With Over-developed Nervous Systems and How to Irradiate Your Face

  1. Ed Darrell says:

    Oh, heavens. I’ll have to do actual measurements to determine the closest book . . .

  2. N.B. says:

    I laughed so hard at your comments about that X-ray machine that I nearly fell out of my desk chair. Nice work!

  3. My dear Bad, what is this? Can this be the same admirably dour logician with whom I’ve spent many profitable hours debating Dawkins, God, and homosexuality in the Old Testament?

    First it was “South Park” references, and now blog memes? What can be next? Cute pictures of kittens? Your favorite brownie recipe? A great big “Jesus Saves” in your masthead? I can feel my universe turning upside down! ;>)

    OK, I’m in. ;>)

    -smith (tongue firmly in cheek)

  4. Ok, I finally got around to going this. Sorry for the delay. The book in question is “My Lady Nicotine” by J. M. Barrie, who is far more well known as the author of “Peter Pan”. This particular book is a whimsical yet fascinating semi-autobiographical account of Barrie’s bachelorhood, recounted through the prism of the smoking habits of him and his four bachelor friends.

    -smith

  5. I laughed so hard at your comments about that X-ray machine that I nearly fell out of my desk chair. Nice work!

  6. I laughed so hard at your comments about that X-ray machine that I nearly fell out of my desk chair. Nice work!

  7. I laughed so hard at your comments about that X-ray machine that I nearly fell out of my desk chair. Nice work!

  8. Legal Highs says:

    I laughed so hard at your comments about that X-ray machine that I nearly fell out of my desk chair. Nice work!

  9. Oh, heavens. I’ll have to do actual measurements to determine the closest book . . .

  10. Oh, heavens. I’ll have to do actual measurements to determine the closest book . . .

  11. Next your video can be distributed to over 50 video sites for around $150 and can be with several optimized descriptions targeting your 3 keyword phrases, the video sites are also high page rank and offer great exposure to your potential customers.Get yourself put on google local by a professional who knows how and what to do and when people search for local business they will find you on the front page, that costs around $100 and your video can be put on there too. Thank you for this article! I’ve just found a truly good news about real marketing Try it!

  12. space for lease…

    […]Book Meme Corner: Women With Over-developed Nervous Systems and How to Irradiate Your Face « The Bad Idea Blog[…]…

  13. corner desk says:

    I’ve learn several excellent stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot effort you set to make this sort of great informative web site.

  14. Sterling says:

    It’s very easy to find out any topic on web as compared to textbooks,
    as I found this article at this web page.

  15. Amazing blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any ideas? Appreciate it!

  16. Nice answers in return of this question with solid arguments and describing everything about
    that.

  17. It is actually a great and useful piece of info.
    I’m satisfied that you just shared this helpful info with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  18. I tend not to drop many remarks, however I browsed through some
    remarks on this page Book Meme Corner: Women With Over-developed Nervous Systems and How to Irradiate Your Face | The Bad Idea
    Blog. I do have a few questions for you if you tend not to mind.

    Could it be simply me or does it look like like a few of these remarks come
    across like they are coming from brain dead people? :
    -P And, if you are writing at other online social sites, I would like to follow everything new you
    have to post. Could you post a list of the complete urls of all your public pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or
    twitter feed?

  19. indoor bike says:

    Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a
    community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to
    work on. You have done a wonderful job!

  20. Foundation for Defense of Democracies

    Book Meme Corner: Women With Over-developed Nervous Systems and How to Irradiate Your Face | The Bad Idea Blog

Leave a Reply

