Arbitrary Blogging Milestone

As of today, people around the world have stopped by more than 100,000 times and left more than 2,222 comments (though probably about half of those are my own) on my mere 302 posts. And I’m not even a year into this gig yet. It’s a modest amount compared to the eyeballs most blogging juggernauts draw in, but it’s still far more folks than I can possibly imagine.

So thanks gentle readers. It’s been, and will continue to be, swell!

5 Responses to Arbitrary Blogging Milestone

  1. bitchspot says:

    Congrats on reaching your milestone. I haven’t got a clue how many total visitors I’ve had, but Akismet reports it’s blocked over 7000 spam, so I guess that’s got to mean something, right? :)

    Keep up the good work.

  2. Bad says:

    Thanks. There were days when “hits” sort of meant something, but these days, with so many spiders crawling the web for content, it’s hard to know who or what is really a person. More than fame, my goal is simply to be able to get enough readers that I get thoughtful, challenging comments: that’s more satisfying than just about anything when it comes to blogging.

  3. bitchspot says:

    I honestly don’t worry about it, I blog because it’s the one place I can vent and not have to worry about anyone complaining about it. If someone else reads it and enjoys what I say or has a different viewpoint, that’s a bonus, but otherwise, I’m not doing it as a popularity contest and therefore, hits are irrelevant to me.

    At the end of the day if you’re happy with what you’ve done, that’s all that really matters, right?

  4. Bad says:

    Well, yes and no: I’m generally writing to participate in what I see as a conversation/debate. So I want to at least think that others are reading and conversing back.

  5. I’m generally writing to participate in what I see as a conversation/debate.

    Face it, you just like being contrary. ;)

    Seriously, congratulations. I just saw this now, since I’ve been away from the blogosphere dealing with some health issues. Well done and well deserved.

    As I’ve said elsewhere, while you and I don’t always agree, I’ve come to admire you as a clear thinker, rigorous logician, and fair minded antagonist. Whenever I actually manage to scrape up the time to read blogs, yours is always on the short list.

    Here’s to another 100K!

    -Smith

Leave a Reply

