Being a Buddhist is the Hardest Job in the World

If this is what I need to do to earn inner peace, then I just don’t know if I can cut it:

What do you think about when you meditate?

Usually, some form of trying to excavate any kind of negative thing cycling in the mind and turn it toward the positive. For example, when I am annoyed with Dick Cheney, I meditate on how Dick Cheney was my mother in a previous life and nursed me at his breast.

Only by resorting to Family Guy can I fully capture the horror of this image:

HT: The Agitator

5 Responses to Being a Buddhist is the Hardest Job in the World

  1. Wellll, the Dick Cheney thing aside (shudder), the thing I’ve always liked about Buddhism is that, unlike modern Christianity, it offers you a way of dealing with the world around you, while not obsessing over things like “how many angels can dance on the head of a pin”.

    Some have even theorized that the “lost years” of the Gospels represent a time when Jesus was in the east and may have been exposed to Buddhism. I don’t know if that’s true, but t’s interesting to speculate about, if nothing else.

    -smith

  2. Grendel The Martyr says:

    Um, I’m pretty sure Jesus spent his lost years in Cleveland, Ohio trying to determine why there was no mention of that continent in his Dad’s book.

  3. chris says:

    LOL thanks for the meditation aid. But as a practicer of zen meditation (trying to get to nothin in my head), i am now stuck with an image of cheney with a pube in his mouth.

  4. Bad says:

    I’ve found that, for whatever reason, it’s extremely easy for me to achieve the state of having nothing in my head, clearing it out. It’s getting certain things into to my head that I find really difficult… though also the most rewarding. :)

  5. zxvasdf says:

    Religion is one’s interface between the internal and the external, if such distinction is to be given; some might not suscribe to a specific denomination but this doesn’t mean they don’t have a religion. A ‘belief system’ might be the more appropriate term, as ‘religion’ brings up specific, at least for myself, images of centuries impregnated with unholy crusades indulged by the self-serving interests of whichever regime wielded the highest shamanic authority.

Leave a Reply

