Totally Made Up, Unilateral Blog Carnival! (And a Tiny Bit on Expelled!)

It’s time for another survey of stuff worth reading on the internet, so let’s pretend that I’m hosting some sort of esoteric Blog Carnival. Topic? ME! (And for those readers who are getting sick of Expelled musings, good news: I’ve exiled them to the end of this post)

Anyway, let’s get this thing started with a review of the home-birth-homage film “The Business of Being Born” from someone who might know a little about the subject: family practice doc Harriet Hall. Personally, I think she’s nuts to worry about all the hospital-hate in the film. Doctors are dangerous! That’s why I’m planning on going for an “all-natural” coronary artery bypass when my time comes.

Next, Ed Darrell over at Millard Fillmore’s Bathtub points us towards both Cracked list of 11 Movies Saved by Historical Inaccuracy (in which we learn that Mel Gibson’s Patriot hero was, in real life, a notorious slave rapist) and Yahoo’s own similar listing of Greatest Historical Goofups (in which we learn that Mel Gibson’s Braveheart hero would have had to have sex with a three year old to make any sense). Both lists need to apologize for the ridiculousness of calling 2001: A Space Odyssey “historically” inaccurate. It’s called Science-FICTION, guys.

Over at Exploring Our Matrix, religious religion prof James F. McGrath asks “Can (the story of) Noah’s Ark Be Saved?” I’m not sure if his answer is yes or no, exactly but I’m pretty sure that whatever it is, it’s the right answer. The stories of Noah and Job cannot be reconciled any better to modern morals than they can to modern science. That doesn’t mean that we cannot learn things from them (whether believers learning about God, or even non-believers learning about believers).

Then we have Hemant at Friendly Atheist who sees Jesus everywhere he looks. Fair warning though: be prepared to squint.

To pad out my fake Carnival, I’ll also note Bug Girl’s submission to the all-too-real 83rd Skeptic’s Circle/Carnival. The title is simply irresistible: Pubic Lice: “Sea monkeys in your pants” Speaks for itself, right?

Finally, if you want to know more about my sense of humor, here’s Exhibit A: new internet sensations FAIL blog and Stuff White People Like.

Oh, and in case you yourself had PHAILed to notice it, that big honking graphic over on the top right goes to Expelled Exposed, the soon-to-be official National Center for Science Education response to that expelled movie thingy everyone has been going on and on about. I highly recommend other bloggers doing something similarly prominent to get the word out: feel free to steal my graphic if you’re lazy.

It’s also worth noting that, for some unknown reason, this teensy blog is actually the or at least amongst the top results when you search for information on the film, which is pretty odd, because I almost never post about the darn thing. While I’m flattered, Internet, I can’t help but think that other science sites should be up there instead.

Finally, as I noted over at Skepchick, what is probably one of the most crucial Google search terms in this little PR war, “expelled movie,” didn’t have a single critical, pro-science site on the all-important first page of results. But then, lo and behold, the very day after I complain about it, Phil Plait and I break into the big time! Somehow, I have gained the power to move digital mountains.

Beware!

8 Responses to Totally Made Up, Unilateral Blog Carnival! (And a Tiny Bit on Expelled!)

  1. Ed Darrell says:

    Nice carnival!

    When’s the next edition?

    ::ducking::

  2. Finally, if you want to know more about my sense of humor,

    I was astonished to learn you have one. ;>)

    new internet sensations FAIL blog and Stuff White People Like.

    Yes, those are hysterical. I note with a certain tinge of envy that SWPL already has over 19 MILLION hits. {sigh} You and I are obviously in the wrong racket, Bad.

    -smith

  3. Bad says:

    Too many words. That’s always a problem.

  4. Too many words. That’s always a problem.

    Sorry, not sure what you mean here.

  5. Bad says:

    Well, the sites mentioned have about one or two words per post, and most of them are “FAIL” or “LOLZ.” I can barely bring myself to clock in under 5 or 6 paragraphs per post. The former has wide appeal. The latter is, well, something of a specialty niche.

    In other words, if you’re looking for fame, short and sweet are going to win every time. Thus, having too many words is the core deficiency of “our racket.” :)

  6. Oh, D’uh. I get it.

    And you’re right, of course. Even something as seemingly simple as the meme post (which I finally got around to writing) takes up several paragraphs. I noticed you had the same “problem” –although I’m not sure having something to say is really a problem.

    But we do pay the price for being eloquent. ;>)

    -smith

  7. Well, the sites mentioned have about one or two words per post, and most of them are “FAIL” or “LOLZ.”

    That can be said about “Failblog”, which is really just another variation on “Icanhazcheezeburger”. “Stuff White People Like”. is certainly verbose enough, so you really can’t attribute its success to brevity.

    I was going to let this go until I read that they were awarded a book deal worth $300,000!

    Annoying, that.

    -smith

  8. I found this blog while I was searching bing on key term website hosting. I like information posted. Thanks for sharing

Leave a comment